4th Annual Policy Solutions Day 2021

Youth were encouraged to share safely from their hearts. Each youth who attended had up to 5 minutes in each meeting to describe what the impact of having a social safety net of support leaving care would mean to them. A social safety for all youth leaving care looks like: 

  • Adequate, safe, stable housing, financial and community/cultural support.
  • An automatic enrollment into supports for all youth in and from care regardless of time spent in care, or care status.
  • Ready-based, not age-based support meaning that no youth abruptly loses support due to aging.

We asked decision makers that they can support our ask by supporting it in the Legislative Assembly and investing money into it at the Treasury Board level. 

We thank the decision makers for their commitment in meeting, openness, and engagement through inquires and supportive commentary and the staff for setting us up with meetings.

We have so much gratitude for the youth team who expressed interest and advocated with us on the day to raise public awareness and build capacity in advocating for a better future for all youth from care. The courageous efforts of the youth who attending was inspiring, and continues to fuel the community efforts for improving youth transitions from care to adulthood. 
We believe that all youth should look forward to turning 19.

The list of Ministers, MLAs, and staff who met with us include:

Karin Kirkpatrick - Official Opposition critic for Children, Family Development, and Childcare
Trevor Halford - Official Opposition critic for Mental Health and Addictions
Ellis Ross - Official Opposition critic for Environment and Climate Change Strategy, and as Official Opposition critic for LNG and Resource Opportunities
Coralee Oakes - Official Opposition critic for Advanced Education and Skills Training and Sport
Doug Clovechok -  Official Opposition Caucus Whip
Renee Merrifield -  MLA for Kelowna-Mission
Ian Paton - Official Opposition critic for Agriculture and Food
Andrew Wilkinson - MLA for the riding of Vancouver-Quilchena
Shirley Bond - Official Opposition critic for Seniors Services and Long Term Care and critic for Health
Lorne Doerkson - Official Opposition critic for Rural Development
MLA Brittany Anderson and Tesicca Truong, Ministerial Advisor
Ministry of Children and Family Development - Minister Dean, staff and ADMs - Paula Gunn SMA, Ashley Mackay, Catherine Talbott, Carolyn Kamper
Nicholas Simons – Minister of Poverty Reduction and social Development
Susie Chant – MLA North Vancouver
Kelly Greene – MLA Richmond-Stevenson
David Eby – Attorney General and Minister of Housing
Brenda Bailey – MLA Vancouver-False Creek
Finn Donnelly – MLA Coquitlam-Burke
Spencer Chandra-H – MLA Vancouver-Burrard
Ronna-Rae Leonard - MLA for Courtenay-Comox
Shelia Malcomson – Minister of Mental Health and Additions
Aman Singh – MLA of Richmond-Queensborough
Niki Sharma - Vancouver–Hastings in 2020 and Deputy Caucus Chair and Parliamentary Secretary for Community Development and Non-Profits
Josie Osborne – Minister of Municipal Affairs
Brittany Anderson – MLA, Special Advisor to Premier on Youth’s Issues
Michele Babchuk - North Island in 2020.Deputy Government Whip and a member of the Appointment Orders Committee.
Lisa Beare - Minister of Citizens Services
Dan Coulter - MLA for Chilliwack, Parliamentary Secretary for Accessibility.
Mike Farnworth - Deputy Premier and Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General
Rob Fleming -  Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure
Rick Glumac - MLA for Port Moody-Coquitlam
Bowinn Ma - Minister of State for Infrastructure
Harwinder Sandhu - MLA for Vernon-Monashee
Garry Begg – MLA for Surrey-Guildford
Ravi Khalon - Minister of Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation
Katrina Chen – Minister of State for Child Care
George Chow - Minister of State for Trade
Megan Dykeman - MLA for Langley East
Melanie Mark - Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport
Andrew Mercier - MLA for Langley
Kelli Paddon - MLA for Chilliwack-Kent
Bruce Ralston - Minister of Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation
Murrey Rankin - Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation
Jennifer Rice - MLA for North Coast
Janice Routledge - MLA for Burnaby North
Doug Routley -  MLA for Nanaimo-North Cowichan
Jinny Sims -  MLA for Surrey-Panorama
Mike Starchuk - MLA for Surrey-Cloverdale
Henry Yao - MLA for Richmond South Centre

Representative for Children and Youth Workshop

Blair Mitchell - Executive Director, Advocacy and Youth Engagement
Pippa Rowcliff - 
Deputy Representative, Investigations, Monitoring and Corporate Services
Tracy Eyles - Child and Youth Advocate with the Representative for Children and Youth